American Society of Naturalists

A membership society whose goal is to advance and to diffuse knowledge of organic evolution and other broad biological principles so as to enhance the conceptual unification of the biological sciences.

Past Meetings of the ASN

2014 (June) Raleigh, North Carolina (NESCent)
2014 (January) Asilomar Conference Center, Pacific Grove, California (stand-alone meeting)
2013 Snowbird, Utah (
2012 Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (with European Society for Evolutionary Biology and the Canadian Society for Ecology and Evolution)
2011 Norman, Oklahoma
2010 Portland, Oregon (Portland State University)
2009 University of Idaho, Moscow
2008 University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
2007 Christchurch, New Zealand
2006 Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, New York
2005 University of Alaska, Fairbanks
2004 Colorado State University, Fort Collins
2003 California State University, Chico (joint meetings with SSE and SSB resume)
2002 Banff, Alberta, Canada (stand-alone meeting)
2001 Knoxville, Tennessee
2000 Bloomington, Indiana
1999 Madison, Wisconsin
1998 Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1997 Boulder, Colorado
1996 Providence, Rhode Island
1995 Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1994 University of Georgia, Athens
1993 Snowbird, Utah
1992 Berkeley, California
1991 Hilo, Hawaii
1990 College Park, Maryland
1989 Pennsylvania State University
1988 Asilomar Conference Center, Pacific Grove, California
1987 Montana State University, Bozeman
1986 Missouri Botanical Gardens, St. Louis
1985 Americana Congress Hotel, Chicago, Illinois (with SSE)
1984 Crested Butte, Colorado (with SSE)
1983 St. Louis, Missouri (with SSE and the Genetics Society of America)
1982 Stony Brook, New York (with SSE)
1981 Iowa City, Iowa (with SSE)
1980 Tucson, Arizona (with SSE)
1979 Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (with Genetics Society of America and the Canadian Genetics Society)
1978 Athens, Georgia (with AIBS and ESA)
1977 Michigan State University, East Lansing (with AIBS)
1976 Tulane University, New Orleans, Louisiana (with AIBS)
1975 University of California, Davis (with SSE)
1974 Tucson, Arizona (with the American Society of Zoologists, SSE, Society of Systematic Zoology, American Microscopical Society, and Herpetologists' League)
and San Francisco, California (with AAAS)
1973 Amherst, Massachusetts (with AIBS)
1972 Washington, DC (with AAAS)
1971 Philadelphia (with AAAS)
1970 Chicago, Illinois (with AAAS)
1969 Boston, Massachusetts (with AAAS)
1968 Dallas, Texas (with AAAS)
1967 New York, New York
1966 Washington, DC (with AAAS)
1965 Berkeley, California
1964 Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1963 Cleveland, Ohio
1962 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1961 Denver, Colorado
1960 New York, New York
1959 Chicago, Illinois
1958 Washington, DC
1955 East Lansing, Michigan
1954 Gainesville, Florida
1953 Boston, Massachusetts
1952 Cornell University, Ithaca, New York (with AIBS)
1951 Minnesota Museum of Natural History (with Genetics Society of America), Minneapolis, Minnesota
1950 Columbus, Ohio
1949 New York, New York
1948 Washington, DC
1947 Chicago, Illinois
1946 (December) Boston, Massachusetts
1946 (March) St. Louis, Missouri
1944 (September) Cleveland, Ohio
[three-year period with no meetings]
1941 (January) Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1939 Columbus, Ohio
1938 Richmond, Virginia
1937 Indianapolis, Indiana
1936 (December) Atlantic City, New Jersey
1936 (January) St. Louis, Missouri
1934 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1933 Boston, Massachusetts
1932 Atlantic City, New Jersey
1931 (December) New Orleans, Louisiana
1931 (January) Cleveland, Ohio
1930 (January) Des Moines, Iowa
1928 New York, New York
1927 Nashville, Tennessee
1926 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1925 (December) New Haven, Connecticut
1925 (January) Washington, DC
1923 Cincinnati, Ohio
1922 Boston, Massachusetts
1921 Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1920 Chicago, Illinois
1919 Princeton, New Jersey
1918 (December) Baltimore, Maryland
1918 (January) Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1916 New York, New York
1915 Columbus, Ohio
1914 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1913 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1912 Cleveland, Ohio
1911 Princeton, New Jersey
1910 Ithaca, New York
1909 Boston, Massachusetts
1908 Baltimore, Maryland
1907 Chicago, Illinois
1906 New York, New York
1904 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1903 St. Louis, Missouri
1902 Washington, DC
1901 Chicago, Illinois
1900 Baltimore, Maryland
1899 New Haven, Connecticut
1898 New York, New York
1897 Ithaca, New York
1896 Boston, Massachusetts
1895 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1894 Baltimore, Maryland (Johns Hopkins University)
1893 New Haven, Connecticut (Yale University)
1892 Princeton, New Jersey (Princeton College)
1891 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Academy of Natural Sciences)
1890 Boston, Massachusetts (Harvard Medical School)
1889 New York, New York (Columbia College)
1888 Baltimore, Maryland (Johns Hopkins University)
1887 New Haven, Connecticut (Peabody Museum of Natural History at Yale University)
1886 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Engineers' Club and University of Pennsylvania)
1885 Boston and Cambridge, Massachusetts (Harvard Medical School and Harvard Hall)
1884 Washington, DC (US National Museum)
1883 (December) New York, New York (School of Mines, Columbia College, and American Museum of Natural History)
1883 (April) Springfield, Massachusetts (High School Hall)